What was the capital of Russia before Moscow ?

What was the capital before Moscow ?

A. Volgograd
B. Kaliningrad
C. Saint Petersburg
D. None of them

From early times until the present, Russia (temporarily extended to the USSR) had two capital cities: and Petersburg. Moscow was the original capital, it was succeeded by Petersburg from the beginning of the 18th century.